Ingredient Database:
gelatin


Simple Definition: Substance derived from the collagen inside animals' skin and bones. It is used in foods as a 'gelling agent'.




Our Comments:

Gelatin is entirely protein, but has less nutritional value than most other animal-based protein sources. It is made up mostly of non-essential amino acids.

Although it doesn't techincally fall neatly into any of our categories, we have chosen to place it as an animal protein with an unspecific source. In pet foods, it is used as almost exclusively as a gelling or binding agent.

Categories this ingredient falls under:

Animal Protein: This is a protein-based ingredient from an animal source: the main requirement in a carnivore diet.
Unspecified Source: This ingredient doesn't specify what kind of animal it came from. Usually this is an indication of low quality. It's better to know exactly where your meats and fats are coming from to ensure quality and consistency between food batches.





---Some information sourced from - [link] -
---This page was last updated on September 21, 2013 by fuzzfuzz. [change log]
Disclaimer